//
you're reading...
Leisure, OS X, Technology, Windy Garden

Introducing Windy Garden

or…what I’ve been spending my weekends and early morning hours working on.

If you’ve read many of the early posts on this blog you’d see that I’m an avid gamer, and that I like to write code for various things however the one combination that hasn’t appeared much has been writing my own games.  This is mainly due to the fact that I don’t have many ideas that are realistic for me to implement.

Enter Windy Garden, the first game I’ve written since my days on the TI-85.  The premise is simple; a bunch of seeds are floating around on the screen and your objective is to plant them by nudging them with a chain reaction of blooms created by tapping on the screen.  You need to have good timing and strategic placement though; as the blooms only last for a short period of time.

Inspired by a similar game on Facebook titled Chain Reaction, I felt the concepts in this game were simple enough to implement for my first foray into Objective-C and iPhone programming.

The screenshots below show my current progress on the app, using graphics that were all hand-made so they don’t look the best.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do about that in the end.

Currently the core part of the game has been implemented, but there are still a few tasks that remain including scoring, game over, etc.  And I have a couple tricks up my sleeve yet as well.  Look forward to future posts which will discuss how I went about writing the game and what I learned as I went along.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Windy Garden update | Mr. .NET - November 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

Archive

