//
you're reading...
General

Traveling through Dubai

[Note: At the time I wrote this, there wasn’t much filtering going on in my head so pretty much whatever came to my head wound up below.]

First things first, holy crap it takes forever to get here…and I’m not done yet, I still fly to New Delhi after this! The flight was long enough that I watched 6 movies on the plane: The Social Network, Unstoppable, 127 Hours, Dinner for Schmucks, You Don’t Know Jack, and Solitary Man.  And that’s not counting the two flights to get me from Columbus to JFK first.

I was a bit awestruck when I first saw Dubai from the air.  I arrived at night so all I could see were the city lights.  It’s a bit odd, but the way I’d categorize it would be clean and organized.  Unlike when arriving in other cities at night there was uniformity to the lights in Dubai.  There wasn’t a mixture of various hues of light, nor did it appear that a single light was out or dim because all of them were evenly spaced throughout the city.  And it wasn’t just the street lights that had a uniform hue, but it seems that most of the lights used on buildings were the same as well; though they were slightly different from the ones used on the streets.

I wished I could have taken a picture, but with it being dark outside and light inside the cabin it wouldn’t have turned out very well….plus my camera was buried in my bag which was itself buried under the seat in front of me – yes, that was stupid of me 12 hours without any room for your feet sucks.

Taxiing in to the terminal it was quickly apparent of just how large the airport will become…the terminal appeared to tower over our plane, an A380-800 (the largest passenger plane in the world).

After exiting the plane I really had no idea where to go, so I just followed the crowd….soon enough I was in an open area with monitors for departures…unfortunately, they were displaying a windows command prompt with a directory sync taking place so not only did I not know where I needed to go but I wouldn’t know what gate to go to once I got there.

Once again, crowd sourcing saved me; I just followed the people and wound up in the (only) security line, yes it appears that arrivals are automatically outside of the security area at DBX.  Speaking of security, it was a bit different from the US.  There weren’t any signs indicating what needed to be put on the conveyor belt, nor did they even ask for my passport or boarding pass.  Oh well….the crowd didn’t help me on finding the gate information though; after walking one way towards some gates I turned back the other way when I stumbled upon a handwritten poster sitting behind a row of (“broken”) monitors that had flight and gate information.

It turns out I wasn’t too far away from where I needed to be to get on the flight to New Delhi.

At this point I’ve been awake for 28 hours, and I still have a ways to go yet…I don’t arrive in New Delhi until almost 3am local time and its not even 11pm there yet….I will be happy once I get to the hotel and can post this.

I promise I’ll take pictures tomorrow, and hopefully one of my flights back into Dubai over the next two weeks is during the day so I can see what the city really looks like.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

