//
you're reading...
General

Windy Garden update

Long, long ago I started work on an iOS game I called Windy Garden.  The purpose of the app was to familiarize myself with Objective-C and Cocos2D.  For one reason or another I got away from working on it, and it sat languishing on my MacBook Pro.

Earlier this year I decided to get back into it.  Partly because I had a new MacBook Air to work on and partly because I’d been itching to write code again.  Due to the age of the old code, it was nearly impossible to just work with it as Cocos2D had gone through some significant changes as well as the changes to iOS and Xcode.

The rewrite was quick to do, and I got much more done than before.  Its still not done, there are a few things I want to implement yet however I could release what I have now if I wanted to (and if I signed up for the developer program again).

What’s new this time is that I’ve introduced audio!  I created my own tone sound effects for the seed “explosions” and found some royalty-free music by Kevin MacLeod to use in the background.

I hope I’ll finish it soon, it’d be nice to finally get it pushed out; even if I’m the only person that plays it.  Only two major items remain to implement and that is high scores and achievements.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

