//
you're reading...
General

Thick As A Brick 2

I’ve been listening to Ian Anderson’s Thick As A Brick 2 lately.

Its the first CD I’ve bought in at least 5 years and likely more than that. I’ve listened to the album about a couple dozen times over the past week and I have to say that I’m thoroughly enjoying it.

As I write this I’ve just put the Special Edition DVD in and I’m giving the album another listen. Ian Anderson, the wordsmith, did a wonderful job in writing the lyrics to the album, each song telling the story of young Gerald’s life or a possible path he may have gone down in his adult years.

All-in-all, the album is a rather masterful production that is unfortunately hurt a little bit by the last word on the album; abruptly drawing us out of the symphony of possible lives of Gerald Bostock and back to reality.

I bought the Special Edition of the album, so in addition to the CD I have a DVD that includes two high quality mixes (a 24-bit stereo mix and 5.1 surround mix) as well as a set of videos and PDFs.  I watched the “making of” video and some of the lyrical reading, but honestly it didn’t add anything to it for me.

As far as the high quality mixes, I haven’t listened to them either…I’m simply not an audiophile so I wouldn’t notice the enhancements 24-bit audio would provide and I lack a decent 5.1 surround system to take advantage of that mix…in-fact, except for the audio on the DVD videos I’ve listened to the album by streaming it through Spotify.

Overall, I highly recommend the album; but the “special edition” should be reserved for audiophiles that could listen to the enhanced mixes and enjoy them.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

