//
you're reading...
General

Time for a change

This week, I turned in my notice to ComponentOne/GrapeCity that I accepted a position with another company.

I’ll be joining my friend and former co-worker, Lucas Hardbarger, at InfoPlanIT LLC working as a Senior Developer/Consultant. There, I’ll be putting to use my expertise with .NET, ActiveReports, and GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis to enhance their existing product line as well as create custom solutions for their clients.

I got my start at ComponentOne/GrapeCity by joining Data Dynamics, Ltd. 7 years ago as a new Tech Support Engineer, 3 months later I moved up to a Junior Product Manager and before the end of my first year I was the Product Manager for Data Dynamics Reports.

A month or two before we announced that GrapeCity was buying out Data Dynamics, Lucas announced he was leaving Data Dynamics for InfoPlanIT. That is when I took over the Product Manager duties for bringing ActiveAnalysis to 2.0. I then continued in this role through the acquisition by GrapeCity up until the first maintenance release when I turned the product over to Shalini, one of my co-workers in our India office.

Shortly after this we turned our attention to ActiveReports 7, where I worked with Raji and Sergey from the original Data Dynamics team and several from our Japan branch.

Last July we announced that GrapeCity had bought out ComponentOne. Later that month, after a year and a half of development, we released ActiveReports 7 (after a hasty update of the product to match the new ComponentOne branding).

And that brings us to today. To leave after 7 years is bittersweet, but it’s time to move on to other things. This will be different for me, but I’m looking forward to it!

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

