//
you're reading...
Politics

Why is this news?

I found this on the front page of Yahoo.

Bush disgusted by abuse of Iraqi prisoners

Is there a perception out there that Bush thinks it was alright to torture/abuse the prisoners?

It makes about as much sense to me as those studies to find out that eating junk food and not exercising leads to weight gain.

About James

I am a Solutions Architect for DataMaaS, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Why is this news?

  1. You seem a little young and naive in your politics, James. Notwithstanding your nice article on IExtenderProvider, which led me to your blog. Anyway, the aspect that you overlook (intentionally, perhaps?) in this news article is that there is a political cost for silence. Mr. Bush cannot afford that price at this time. The real question here is how the good-ol’-boy network is going to hash out the perceived punishment. It will be interesting to see who is standing when the music stops.

    Posted by Anonymous | May 11, 2004, 10:58 pm
  2. “Anyway, the aspect that you overlook (intentionally, perhaps?) in this news article is that there is a political cost for silence.”

    I fully expected it to be reported but I thought it was trying to reach a conclusion that somehow this reaction wasn’t expected. After all, it isn’t frontpage headline news if it is run-of-the-mill opinion.

    I’m glad to be wrong in that later just about every major political entity that has condemned the abuse also got front page headlines. At the time I was expecting the front page headlines to be limited to Bush and Rumsfeld.

    It also appears that I should have chosen a better URL to link to as the link no longer points to the article I was referring to.

    I probably should have posted something later to that effect, but I’ve been so busy with a new venture that this is only the second time I’ve even loaded up my own site in the last week or so.

    With the news this is getting now I’m expecting the people doing the investigations/prosecutions to get some heavy pressure from Bush and Co. to do it right. There will be no second chances that will have a public impact.

    Posted by James T. Johnson | May 11, 2004, 11:35 pm

Leave a comment

Archive